Sonnet 71 is about death and mourning. The speaker tells the audience not to mourn for his/her death past the sound of the “surly sullen bell”– the funeral bell that announces to the world that the speaker has passed on. In addition, the speaker tells the reader to forget about him/her. They should not think often of the speaker and should instead let the audience’s love for the speaker die alongside of him/her in as to keep them safe. The speaker is worried that the world will use his/her death to “mock” the audience after “they look into [the audience’s] moan”.

The video was helpful to me because I am a visual learner. It was beneficial to see and hear both the tone and the mood the actor portrayed. Also, it was easier to understand the impact of some of the words chosen by Shakespeare and the impact it has in everyday life.

No longer mourn for me when I am dead
Than you shall hear the surly sullen bell
Give warning to the world that I am fled
From this vile world with vildest worms to dwell:
Nay, if you read this line, remember not
The hand that writ it, for I love you so
That I in your sweet thoughts would be forgot,
If thinking on me then should make you woe.
O if, I say, you look upon this verse
When I perhaps compounded am with clay,
Do not so much as my poor name rehearse,
But let your love even with my life decay,
  Lest the wise world should look into your moan
  And mock you with me after I am gone.
